HOOKED, COOKED AND FACEBOOKED!

HOOKED, COOKED AND FACEBOOKED!

On an impulsive bridge somewhere between 2005 and 2006, I said “I Agree” to Facebook’s license agreement little knowing that it would be as sacred as a wedding vow.  I have always been high on the affiliation motive and was amazed at the promises that Facebook held. Succinctly known as a social networking site, Facebook has emerged to be something of a phenomenon. We live in a time when ‘belonging’ is just a few clicks, tags and wall posts away. Have we replaced a humane ‘hello’ with a virtual click? Is ‘poking’ the new what’s up? Are we a generation that’s socially slothful or are we proactive with a little aid from the World Wide Web? I can’t quite put my finger on it. The solution to this conundrum lies in drawing the lines and finding stylish ways to abide by them. I believe we’re on Facebook in a modest celebration of our individuality, not to become faceless. This isn’t our way of dealing with real life social ineptness, just our way of saying, “This is a great way to connect so here I am”.

Mark Zuckerberg’s Facebook formula was original and foolproof—to have your own customised space on the internet where you can add people as friends, send them messages, write on their walls (I love that term), notify contacts about your life’s highs and lows and get that legit dose of cheap social thrill. Utility driven users can join networks organized by one’s workplace, college or other worthwhile groups. Whether or not in reality, feel free to give yourself a makeover on Facebook: 1.Choose an almost stunning, half flattering profile picture 2. A well edited ‘info’ page 3. Throw in a few cheeky, clever status updates. While on the topic of status updates, we find ourselves going through life’s banal routes and then we tread upon an exciting something or have an original reflection and think, “I’m going to Facebook that”. When personal views on favourite sporting teams, loved or loathed public figures, socio-political scenarios, juicy tabloid capers or interesting youtube links need to be ‘shared’, feel free to tell the world exactly ‘what’s on your mind’. But do your privacy a favour and don’t let the world know when you run out of toilet paper or need some TLC. It’s this very need to share and to know that has made Facebook a great tool for marketing and lucratively tap a large audience. It beats me as to how people remembered acquaintances’ birthdays, looked up an old friend in Costa Rica, critiqued party pictures from the previous night, stalked exes, reconnected with that quiet girl from the 5th grade and RSVPed to all and sundry events during pre-Facebook times. I guess they just didn’t. But the thought of not having access to all that wonderful information throws me in an uncomfortable flux. I admit, I am Sukanya Rangaraj and I am a Facebook addict.

 My study of psychology has allowed me to keenly observe that people have a parallel personality on Facebook. It’s an alter-ego of sorts that allows one to be overtly excited or morose, seemingly profound, humorously sarcastic or just plain annoying. Mine I’m afraid, borders one or more of the above. If curiosity gets the best of you, like it has with me ever so often, Facebook quizzes will tell u the theme song of your life, which TV character or superhero you’re most like and even predict your wedding date! Never before has trivia been this mindlessly meaningful. I’m sure the millions of quiz-takers, social interviewees and gamers will agree. But in the middle of my fabulous social chaos I’ve drawn some light lines. I’d never tweak my relationship status for the drama or have public photo albums. Also, I’ve never been drawn to the prospect of tending my own virtual farm or warring with pseudo mafias-my close to 1,000 friends keep my hands and mental processing systems full. And yes, I do know each and every one of them. I’m no snob but I blatantly ignore (hilarious) requests from corny but polite strangers. The need for protection and control should be emphasized and Facebook should not be a bribe for kids to get good grades.

As policy, I would not let an unknown entity into my Facebook space. I fiercely guard all my personal/ intellectual/ trivial material which is why my recent research on Facebook’s privacy pact had me a tad alarmed. Face it, Facebook does not guarantee privacy. In that solemn license we all once signed, we have agreed to give up our copyright control over all our information. And deleting this material is only as effective as a superficial wipe out. Facebook owns it all and will still have access to that information-forever. Who knows, one of us might just be provocatively glued on a subway or plastered on a hoarding somewhere in Libya.

Sigh all you like, but it’ll be moments before you give in to the thrilling intrigue of Facebook surfing. By all means, be the friendly Facebooker and make the most of this ingenious way of life. As much as I love the traditional charm of a letter or coffee and conversation, Facebook lets me expedite my affection and fulfill my social affiliations in quick, glossy ways. As long as Facebook isn’t the first to inform me that my sister gave birth, my neighbour has anthrax or my best friend bought Chanel. There are some things that are best personal, for everything else, there’s Facebook!

10 Responses to “HOOKED, COOKED AND FACEBOOKED!”

  1. Suchita Shah Says:

    Hey…
    I see so much of “you” in your writing.
    Your writing is a mirror of your personality!!!
    Love it !
    -Suchita

  2. dhruti valia Says:

    i agree with every word…facebookings great but nothing can compare real personal contact! fantastic job my chinoo…as usual!so proud of u!

  3. Kartik Says:

    fantastic! that was a refreshing break from job costing! my light went out, so read it before scheduled 😀

  4. Sejal Says:

    🙂

  5. soli Says:

    awesome stuff 🙂

  6. Mihika Says:

    Great job Sukanya! 🙂 What a great read that was.

  7. Revathi R Says:

    Made great reading!! Actually quite profound when u read it a second time.Very proud of u Suki baby,especially coming frm one belonging to gen X.

  8. Devaunshi Says:

    Bravo! girl
    “There are some things that are best personal, for everything else, there’s Facebook”… very articulate!!

  9. Faraaz Kazi Says:

    Well written, Sukanya. Facebook has indeeed become a second-life of sorts. Best of luck!

  10. Vaishnavi Says:

    I am a Facebook addict. I tried to go cold turkey few weeks back…..but I came crying back into its warm blue arms…..snuggled up against its stalking opportunities and tried to resolve our differences by updating my status. Good writing Sukanya…Loved it! Keep it coming …. 🙂

Leave a comment